UK Awards

The Conspicuous Gallantry Cross

Instituted in 1993 to replace the DCM, CGM, CGM (Flying) and the DSO when awarded for gallantry.

The Distinguished Conduct Medal

Instituted by Queen Victoria in 1854 to recognise the many acts of gallantry being performed by troops in the Crimea.

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal

The CGM awarded to naval personnel for gallantry in action against the enemy. A Level 2 award

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (Flying)

The CGM (Flying)introduced in 1942 as a Level 2 award for RAF NCOs and men.

The George Medal

Instituted on 24 September 1940 by King George VI to reward people from all walks of life, particularly during the blitz.

The Military Cross

The Military Cross, orginally reserved for Officers below the rank of Major and Warrant Officers, is since 1993 open to all ranks.

The Military Medal

Instituted in 1916 as a Level 3 award, this medal was discontinued in 1993.


Apply for Membership

If you are interested in joining the League then please click below and fill in the application form.

Members Login

Members Area

Please log in to access the secure Members only area. Here you will find details of Musters and meetings or download the Newsletter, including past editions back to 1995. In this area you will also be able to view photographs taken at League events or even upload some of your own images. Please log in and take a look around.

Members Login

History of the League

The League was founded in 1931. Please read the brief history of the Gallantry Medallists' League and its predecessors. If you have any information about the early years, then we would be delighted to hear from you so we can amend our history for future generations of gallantry medal recipients and their families.

Click Here to read more

Aims of the League

The League is a non-service, non-political organisation however many members will be serving or ex-serving personnel from the uniformed services.

Click Here to read more


We will soon accept donations via PayPal.